First Dural Scouts Group Annual Report Presentation

Philip giving wisdom to James Waterson
Our Annual Report Presentation on Saturday June 19 was well attended by more than 50, including local Federal Member Julian Leeser, The Hon Philip Ruddock, Mayor of Hornsby, Cr Warren Wadell and Mr Terry Brooke, Deputy Chief Commissioner, Scouts NSW

Julian Leeser handed out the awards, with Grey Wolf awards going to Chistian Zapletal, Brigitte Zapletal, Elijah Dawson and James Waterson. The Initial Warren Payne (Bear) awards went to Jack O’Kane (Joeys), Angus Smith (Cubs), Max Kuntze (Scouts) and Tegan Edwards (Venturers).

Julian Leeser addressed the meeting, emphasising to the youngsters that leadership starts with people you can reach, coming first from parents and teachers. He pointed out that they will be leaders to their own children in the future.

Julian giving Brigitte Zalpatel the Grey Wolf award

Philip Ruddock also spoke briefly to thank First Dural for the community service that it has provided for more than 80 years. Scouts 

A brief history of Warren’s contribution to 1st Dural.
Warren Payne joined First Dural in 1987 and in 1988 became Treasurer for two years followed as Chairman of the Parent Committee for four years. First Dural was without a Group Leader in 2004 so Warren found a new Chairman and trained to become the Group Leader.

Warren stayed as Group Leader for 10 years but in 2015 he convinced Warwick Mills to become Leader-in-Charge and he moved back to the Parent Committee as Secretary also looking after membership records. Scouts 

In 2018 health problems caused him to reduce involvement further and since then he has helped with PR and submitting editorials to local publications.

In Warren’s words, “My experience in Scouting at 1st Dural has been both enjoyable and worthwhile, working with the many great Leaders and parents who give their time to ensure that our children can participate in the great world of Scouting.”